What happens to someone’s projects, tasks, records, ownership, permissions, and information when they leave? If you’re migrating, it includes people, responsibilities, and access. An employee has left, resigned, or maybe is no longer with the company at that time, and you’re trying to reassign or move their active or completed projects to someone who is already on the team. Some tools give you the option of deactivating or deleting the user. If it deactivates a user, their activities or projects that were assigned to them, in most of your tools, would still be assigned to them, but you’d have this grey stuff over them indicating that they are inactive. But with most of these tools, if you deactivate the user, you might still be paying for their spot. Then if you delete a user, it leaves all their activities, their projects, their tasks, whatever they’re managing, and it leaves the assignee area empty. You don’t want that when you’re moving.
So before you delete a user, you want to filter all the projects that they were working on and then reassign them to someone else who is still active on the setup. Or you create a company user that is just to hold this kind of information or hold this kind of activities. You want to make sure you have reassigned them so you’re not left with a situation of empty records. A lot of times when we are filtering or sorting out or creating dashboards, we want to see activities or projects or tasks that were handled by certain people. So depending on how you want it, at times it might not even make a lot of sense to reassign completed projects that someone had completed to an active user. You can have, as I said, a dummy user to whom you reassign the activities or projects that an ex-employee was working on. It seems like a much cleaner option.